Services for Virginia Families

Virginia state law requires homeschool families to submit Proof of Progress – evidence that their child has learned – by August 1 each academic year.

Proof of Progress may be shown by way of an Evaluation (conducted by a person with a master’s degree or higher in an academic discipline) -OR- through Standardized Testing (in which the child attains a composite score in or above the fourth stanine on any nationally normed standardized achievement test).

With 2 decades of homeschool and educational professional experience, Hand In Hand works with Virginia families to meet their Proof of Progress requirement. Read more about our qualifications to conduct homeschool reviews.

Choose Your Virginia Review Package

Basic

$100
  • 30-min Intake Call
  • Intake Form
  • Review of Work Samples
  • 45-min Compliance Review
  • Compliance Letter

Enhanced

$375
  • 30-min Intake Call
  • Intake Form
  • (3) 45-min Tele-Conferences
  • Review of Work Samples
  • 45-min Compliance Review
  • Compliance Letter

Comprehensive

$550
  • 30-min Intake Call
  • Intake Form
  • (6) 45-min Tele-Conferences
  • Review of Work Samples
  • 45-min Compliance Review
  • Compliance Letter

Virginia law requires a homeschool evaluator to determine that a child is “achieving an adequate level of educational growth and progress” each academic year. Hand In Hand works closely with families to document Proof of Progress through a number of ways.

Intake and Annual Review Forms

Upon initial registration, parents compete an Intake that provides background information on their child’s educational history, as well as their learning strengths and weaknesses. Each year, parents also complete an Annual Review Form that lists the subjects their children have learned and the curricular resources that were used for the year.

Intake Call

After I have had a chance to review your initial registration forms, an Intake Call is scheduled for new families. This call gives us a chance to review your homeschool goals and to answer questions you may have about the review process. The new family Intake Call happens shortly after you register, which may be months before your actual review.

Tele-Conferencing (optional)

Families who opt for 3- or 6- Tele-Conference meetings will be scheduled to meet periodically throughout the academic year. These 45-minute check-ins offer families the opportunity to discuss concerns or questions that may come up as they are homeschooling.

Portfolio Review Meeting

Prior to meeting for the 45-minute Evaluation Tele-Meeting, parents must gather and submit a portfolio of work samples. Work samples are reviewed with the family to determine if Proof of Progress has been met. Please note Hand In Hand’s policy on child participation in Evaluation Meetings:

  • Elementary age children may attend the meeting at the parent’s discretion.
  • Children in grades 6-8 are expected to attend the meeting and participate.
  • High school homeschoolers are expected to be the main participant, rather than the parent, in the review meeting.

Hand In Hand respects the vast spectrum of educational philosophies that successfully work for homeschooling families. We do not “rubber stamp” anyone’s homeschool program. We are happy, however, to work with unschooling and eclectic curricular users to determine Proof of Progress for their children.

Payment

Payment for Virginia Evaluation Services is accepted by way of credit card or PayPal. Payment must be made in full for the Basic package. For the Enhanced and Comprehensive packages, families may choose to pay 50% of the fee at the time of registration. The remaining balance must be paid in equal installments over two or three months, respectively.

Families with more than one child qualify for a $25 per child discount off their Basic Virginia Evaluation Service, beginning with their 2nd enrolled child. Families may also elect to purchase one Enhanced or Comprehensive service package for one child and Basic services for other children in the same family. Each 45-minute Tele-Conference can then be used, as needed, for any or all of the children in the family.

NOTE: Families who wait to enroll until July 1st or later will be assessed a $25 surcharge fee.

Share This Page With Your Friends: